Tags

, , , ,

I had my birthday this month, I’m 29 now, and my dear friend Megan (from Literary Food 3.0 in December last year) gave me Orphan #8 by Kim van Alkemade.

I read it in 2 days (between other birthday celebrations and studying).

It is indescribable! But definitely worth 5 stars and a You Need to Read this Book!

There were one or two moments where she slipped into ‘academic’, usually while explaining things – and while those little moments didn’t add to the story they sure as hell didn’t detract. What made it that much better in fact was the birth of Orphan #8 in the back… which is my creepy and kinda gross way of saying that she tells you the true stories that went into making Orphan #8. Those were my favourite parts, reading the little stories that range from heartwarming to heartbreaking and how seeing the story unfold again, seeing how they influenced the fiction. I don’t often like ‘behind the scenes stuff’, I usually find it trite; but there is so much going on in this book that it was a wonderful and welcome addition.

I can only hope that you all race out and find a copy to read, it really was a 5 star production.

