Tags

, , , , , ,

We all have aspirations. Some small, and some large; some short term, and some long term. It doesn’t really matter what it is that you aspire to, or how long it will take to achieve. What does matter is that you have an aspiration, and that you work to achieve it.

As for me, I aspire to change the world, to make it better.
But, I cannot stand politics, and many of the most obvious ways to achieve my aspiration involve politics to some degree or other.
I have found my path to tread. I know how I’m going about changing the world. Now some could argue that we change the world just by being in it; others argue that we change the world by speaking up against injustices across the globe. They are right… it’s not how I’m doing it, but they are right.

There is more than one way to skin a cat, as the old saying goes. Now, clearly I’m not running around skinning animals, but there is more than one way to change the world.
As long as you are changing the world for the better, and don’t compromise yourself in the process, then why shouldn’t we change the world together.

Let me tell you how I want to change the world, because I need your help.

It is going to be a lifelong process, it may even take generations. I write.
I write about characters who have had life shit on them, and who want to be strong, who break cycles of abuse, who find love and will fight to keep it, and who find themselves at long last. I want people to read my stories, and find something that they can relate to in one of the characters. And as much as I cannot stomach reading my first novel without wanting to rewrite it,  I want people to see Indara – broken, and abused; who finds strength enough to say: No more! Before she ever had a chance to heal, but instead found the chance to heal because she was strong.

Not everyone has lived a life as awful as Indara, and there are still many who have it worse. I want people to read my stories, and find something to aspire to. I don’t want to write the next Harry Potter (though I adore the series), I want to be the quiet voice – the whispering wind. I want you to read my stories, and take something away from it.

People need stories more than bread itself. They tell us how to live, and why.

– Arabian Nights (2000 film)

