Tags

, , ,

Everyone has their own odd little quirks. I have several. Dozen.

I’m an oxymoron; and no that’s not an insult. It’s just a fancy way of saying that I’m a walking contradiction. I love modern technology and I love vintage fashion (though I can rarely afford any of it). I love classics and chic-lit. Fortunately, these eclectic little quirks make me at least a little bit interesting to the people who decide to befriend me.

A long time ago, in a galaxy far away, I made a decision that baffled most people who knew me. I walked away from a person, who until that moment had been my closest friend. I need people, and friends as much as the next person. But, I have a few personal issues about being told what to do, and how to feel. The friend in question needed me to like the girl he had knocked up, and it was something that I wasn’t capable of. See here’s the thing, no one can tell you who you like. They can expect civility, politeness, and manners; but you don’t have to actually like them.
At this point, what had been friendship became a toxic cesspool and I climbed out.

No-one needs this kind of toxicity in their lives; but no-one understands when you trim out the toxic person in your inner circle. On the whole, I still think that friend I walked away from is a halfway decent human being; but I don’t intend to go back either.

Possibly the most remarkable of my quirks… there are 5 people in my life who I specifically need. As for the rest, I need them in the broadest sense, and I appreciate and love them all. But should the time come that I need to walk away, I will do so without looking back; safe in the knowledge that there will always be more people. If you burn my bridge, I’ll set fire to the moat.

We all have our quirks.

