Tags

, , , , , , ,

I have no idea whether any of you have ever heard of Kris Calvert before, but if you like a supernatural comedy… this book is for you. To be honest I don’t even remember where I got it.

The other day I was scrolling through my eReader app looking for a book to read, preferably one that I hadn’t already read (I love rereading, but sometimes you want something new), and I found Witchin’ in the Kitchen by Kris Calvert, it had a wonderful cover.

witchin kitchen

And I thought, that it was about time I read a comedy.

It is beautifully written, the characters are masterfully lifelike. Deliverance Parker is a 325 year old witch and has been blowing around the U.S. with the storms since she was 16 and survived the Salem Witch Trials. When the story really starts we meet her just as she has blown into yet another town, and just as things are getting really interesting.

Along the way we meet the love of Deliverance’s life – a bobcat shifter, his identical twin, Baba Yaga, Deliverance’s familiar… a mouse, and the Reverend John Hale who has been living (poorly) on the same curse as Deliverance, and who had her mother and sister hung in the Trials and is out to get Deliverance if it’s the last thing he does.

At 88 pages it’s by no means a long read, and it’s probably better for it. A nice little pick me up in the afternoon over a pot of tea and a Kissy Cake with Sexual Sugar might be just what the doctor ordered.

I don’t often give a five star review to such a short book, but this one had me in proverbial stitches. A well deserved 5 stars *****

P.S. the recipe for Deliverance’s magical Kissy Cakes with Sexual Sugar is at the end of the book, I might have to give it a go and see what happens.

