Tags

, , , , ,

So, yesterday I posted Brain Dump – I’m not even going to link to it – which was essentially a written tantrum. Just in case you were wondering, yes, sometimes I am two. I am also a single mum, desperately seeking work, and have had chronic sleep problems for going on thirty years; every now and then I am entitled to a tantrum.

I finally managed to see Central Intelligence, I’m going to be honest: I needed that. Do you ever have those days where you just need something funny?  But it was more than that. It was Dwayne “The Rock” Johnson. DJ is an all round good guy, who goes out of his way to lift people up. I follow him on Twitter, and every single day he says something that makes me smile. Everyday he tells his fans that they can be whatever they want to be, but, they have to be ready to do the work. DJ never promises easy solutions, he promises that honest, hard work yields results.

It had been a while since I last watched a Dwayne Johnson film, and I couldn’t help remembering one of my favourite things about him: that he treats everyone he meets with respect. The two most common pieces of advice I’ve seen him give are: hard work and respect. But when he gives out the advice of respect, he broadens it a bit; and reminds us that you have to respect yourself too.

I am sure that I am not the only person out there who would like to meet Dwayne Johnson one day, just to thank him for his endless encouragement, kindness, and respect. DJ uses his power for good.

