Tags

, , , , ,

I have a list of South Carolina treats to make and write up for you all. Last night I made chicken Bog, and I had two test subjects, one of whom helped with one of the Molasses cake. I think I gave her a code name already, but I can’t find it – so I’ll have to give her a new one, ‘Bug helped. So Peach and Mrs Teddy Bear, were my test subjects for Chicken Bog from Choosing Charleston.

First off, I didn’t follow the recipe exactly. But when I first found out what chicken bog was (yay Google) I got a wikipedia article, and somehow I forgot that it needed sausage – and I didn’t buy any. So the alterations started right from the moment I put the chicken in the pot. I also didn’t have any onion… and I added corn, celery, and carrot with the rice. Now, according to the wikipedia article, chicken bog is a pilaf type dish; yet my lovely test subjects took one look at it and noted it’s relation to risotto, and I couldn’t disagree with them. In fact I find more similarities than differences. It’s also not entirely dissimilar to my coconut chicken and rice recipe, except that I cooked the chicken and rice separately and mixed them together with the coconut sauce just before serving. – This may be on the menu in the near future, yum.

Here is the recipe as I made it, using the above recipe as a guide:

Boil whole (size 10) chicken. Pull chicken to bits on plate, toss out oogly bits. Strain out scum from chicken stock, turf that crap too. Into stock dump 1/2 teaspoon salt, pepper to taste, 1/4 teaspoon of paprika, 1/8 teaspoon mild chili powder, heaped 1/2 teaspoon of nutmeg, heaped 1/2 teaspoon of thyme, heaped 1/2 teaspoon oregano, 2 sticks finely sliced celery, 1 carrot sliced, 3/4 cup of frozen corn kernels, 1.5 cups rice, and the chicken meat.
Simmer until the rice has bogged up, and eat. Num num num.
* Please note that measurements regarding seasonings are approximate, as I just sprinkle until I’m happy.
DSC_0007.JPG
Mrs Teddy Bear is well versed in my cooking style, not just from the taste-testing of the molasses cake, and she said that everything I make is good… (she just doesn’t seem to be here for my disasters).
And Peach had seconds, and if you’ve been following my blog for a while you’ll know that Peach has the self-restraint of a saint… usually. Peach said that the seconds alone should tell me what she thought of it.
I understand what she meant, for the health conscious a staple base meal is chicken, rice, and vege. It gets boring quick, so when something is so simple yet delicious, and not boring it’s a win.
I forgot to ask for 1-10 rating, but as Peach went away, after 2 serves, with the recipe; and Mrs Teddy Bear wants the recipe as well – I definitely think that it’s a win, I’m going to give it 8/10 and try it again in the future with the onion and sausage, and generally a little closer to the recipe.
Best enjoyed with budget friendly “fizzy wine”, and great company.
