Tags

, , , ,

So I know it’s been awhile, a long while, but I have another Literary Food post for you; this time from Dana Stabenow’s Kate Shugak Series.

Without further ado I present Old Sam’s Chicken Adobo! It’s a Filipino dish that caused indecent noises over dinner… I make no apologies, or was delicious. In fairness, I didn’t actually look up the recipe. Wikipedia assured me that in essence it was Chicken marinaded in vinegar and soy sauce, which was later reduced to become the sauce.  All of which is served with rice.

Alas, I neglected to take a photo of my chicken marinading. however I photographed the rest. 

To make the marinade I used roughly equal amounts of white vinegar and soy sauce, I was eyeballing whether or not it would cover all of the meat. Then I added a teaspoon of crushed garlic, a shake of black pepper, a generous shake of cinnamon, a pinch of cayenne pepper, and exactly 3 saffron stamens (just to make me feel fancy). I dropped my chicken in the mix when it was only partially defrosted, gave it all a swish and left it to sit. At some point in the afternoon I returned and repeated the swishing, turning the meat as I did so. About an hour before I wanted to start cooking, I diced all my meat (I only had breast in the freezer) and dropped it back in the marinade. 

I used the rice cooker for my rice, it does a better job than I ever will. 

I heated some oil in my cast iron pan and transferred the chicken using a slotted spoon. 

When it was just browned, I poured over the marinade and reduced it by about half. 
The end result was rated highly by the natives, and Bug loved every bite. I will definately be making this again. I can’t thank Old Sam enough for the inspiration. Also on the Literary Food list from the Kate Shugak series is Chopper Jim’s Coq au Vin… 

Until next time!

